“Sunset”

Again this image taken at “Clingmans Dome”  in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.  I love this area of our country and is one of my favorites.  A great link for this treasure of a park is:http://www.nps.gov/grsm/index.htm  I went to this place at sunset twice and took about 20 photos each time.  This image has almost no PP done to it other then reducing noise in Topaz DeNoise 5 and I cropped the image on the top in order to get rid of a hot spot from the sun peeking out of a dark cloud. 

Nikon D90,  2010/10/24 18:42:40,  RAW (12-bit)
Lens: VR 70-300mm F/4.5-5.6 G,  Focal Length: 85mm,  1/15 sec.-F/16
Exposure Mode: Manual,  Metering Mode: Spot
Exposure Comp.: 0 EV,  Sensitivity: ISO 400
White Balance: Auto, AF Mode: Manual                                  
Long Exposure NR: Off
VR Control: Off
High ISO NR: Off

8 Responses to ““Sunset””

  1. the depth and great sunset in perfect match

  2. Love the cloud effect here Eddy and it too has a certain Western Flavour to it!

  3. Tammy McChesney Says:

    BREATHTAKING!!!!

  4. Beautiful shading of the mountains. It looks like a gentle watercolor. I love it.

  5. I’m sorry I haven’t been to your site much, don’t know why but you’ve got some great shots here. THIS one is fabulous….you should enter this to the Nat Geo site! Beautiful

  6. I immediately thought of John Shaw when I looked at this – absolutely stunning! I see beautifully toned shapes culminating in the gorgeous light.

    The lesson is returning until you capture your vision, which is breath-taking.

    • Its funny you mention John Shaw, I took a work shop at Acadia National Park in 1997 or 98 where he and Bill Fortney were the instructors. Great American Photographers Workshop I believe is what it was called. Any way I had John Shaw autograph my three books I had which were written by him. Great workshops, well worth the money. Thank you for the kind comments.

  7. I’ve often seen (and have even even taken) photos of this view with the blue receding silhouetted mountains, but never with the red rays of the sun as a counterpoint.

Leave a Reply

