“Sky”

We had a late start this day to tour around Balsam Mountain in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.   On the way there from Cosby campground is a 5 or 6 mile stretch of the Foothills Parkway in Cosby, Tn.  I took this image at one of the vista areas.  It was very windy and the cloudy, stormy weather  was heading in my direction.   I think it was deep cloudy sky that made me pull over.  To make a long story short by the time I got within a few miles of my destination, Balsam Mountain was totally enclosed in those thick clouds.  I could not see for more then a few feet on a steep winding mountain road so we gave up and turned around.  In a short while the rain started  and I was glad we had turned around.  It rained cats and dogs all day but I got my shot anyway.

Nikon D90,  2010/10/27 12:15:57,  RAW (12-bit)
Lens: VR 18-200mm F/3.5-5.6 G
Focal Length: 22mm
Exposure Mode: Shutter Priority
Metering Mode: Multi-Pattern
1/90 sec – F/19
Exposure Comp.: -1.5 EV
Sensitivity: ISO 250
White Balance: Auto
AF Mode: AF-S                                
Long Exposure NR: Off
VR Control: On
High ISO NR: Off

5 Responses to ““Sky””

  1. So detailed, a case of BIG is beautiful!

  2. Absolutely gorgeous!

  3. I love the clouds in this shot, did you do any post processing on this?

  4. Tammy McChesney Says:

    Breathtaking!!!!

  5. Gorgeous scene…

Leave a Reply

