“Festive”

Well I got my normal seasonal cold and am trying to recuperate by staying in the house.   So I took my new Nikon D-7000  and my Nikkor 105mm F/2.8 Macro and snapped a few images of the White Poinsettia we got for holiday decoration.  I took this on my living room table with the late afternoon light coming from behind the plant.  I like the warm effect this gave to the image.  I PP in Nikon Capture NX-2  by setting my white balance and a curves adjustment. Then transfered to Elements -7  for cropping and sharpening and added a frame.  Have a Merry Christmas!

As Ron pointed out I did not explain the plants tradition with the holidays, Here is a link that explains it some.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euphorbia_pulcherrima

Exif Data:  Nikon D-7000 12/12/2010 3:50:PM,  Raw 14 bit,

Nikkor Macro 105mm F/2.8 @ f/16 and  1/1.3sec

Matrix Metering, Manual focus, ISO-160, Aperture Priority, 0 ev comp., WB- daylight

Tripod used

7 Responses to ““Festive””

  1. Eddy our Poinsettias are not in flower now, can you please explain, why they have a festive feel. I understand they are a cold weather plant, but don’t know the folklore surrounding it!

  2. Hi Ron, Here is a link which explains the Holiday Traditions a little.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euphorbia_pulcherrima
    Eddie

  3. and the flowers are just the small dots in the middle. Great warm color on this one. we have lots of those here at Christmas but as they cannot stand frost it’s important to wrap them….in Sweden that is 😉

  4. Nice crisp image. How do you like the D7000 vs the D90?

  5. Tammy McChesney Says:

    That almost warms me up, but it definitely gives me more holiday spirit!

  6. We had a visit to the local poinsetta grower and came home with one just about like this one. It was an opportunity to see (indoor) acres of the various kinds of plants. The trick to finding a fresh plant is to look at the condition of the little flowers in the center.

    Now to get some posted on my blog, too.

  7. Lovely complimentary light and I enjoyed reading up on the tradition of poinsettias myself.

    Hope by now you have recovered from your cold – winter colds are such a nuisance.

Leave a Reply

